Search This Blog

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Bushi d6 - currency revised

This is based on the currency used during the Tokugawa Era.


There are three standard types of coins used: gold koban, silver ichibuban (commonly referred to as ban), and bronze mon. There are 10 ichibuban to one koban. There are 10 mon to one ichibuban. Ban and mon are made with a square hole in the center for stringing them together. Koban are usually only used for large trade transactions, and as currency between nobles. Most people only see ban and mon in daily life. 

1 comment:

Hedgehobbit said...

That old game Bushido had coins measured in rice. A bronze equal to one day of rice, a silver at one week and a gold at one year's worth. Not historical but it worked well for gauging their effective value.